The Stations - Via Dolorosa - Jerusalem - Holy Land
page,page-id-15801,page-parent,page-template-default,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,side_area_uncovered_from_content,columns-4,qode-theme-ver-10.0,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12,vc_responsive

The Stations

If you come to Jerusalem and you walk in the Old City narrow streets, you will surely find the Via Dolorosa, or “Way of Sorrow”. From the the Ecce Homo Covent to the Basilica of the Holy sepulchre, you walk  on the traditional route that Jesus followed bearing His Cross from his Judgment to his Crucifixion.

Along this route are the Fourteen Stations of the Cross.


First Station of the Cross

Jesus is condemned to death.

“Then they led Jesus from Caiaphas to the Praetorium” (John 18:28)

The minaret called Antonia Tower marks the site of the Roman Fortress where Jesus was condemned.

Second Station of the Cross

Jesus takes up the Cross.

“Pilate took jesus and scourged Him.”(John 19:1)
Then he handed Him over to them to be crucified” (John 19:16)

Two Franciscans Chapels: the Chapel fo the Condemnation and the Chapel of Flagellation.

Third Station of the Cross

Jesus falls under the Cross for the fisrt time.

“He who would console me and give me back my life is far from me” (Lamentations 1:16)

The Polish Chapel stands at the corner of El-Wad Road. Above the entrance, a high relief represents Jesus falling under the cross.

Fourth Station of the Cross

Jesus meets His Mother.

“All you who pass, look and see: is any sorrow like the sorrow that afflicts me?”(Lamentations 1:12)

A little Armenian Catholic Chapel is standing where tradition says that Our Lady stood by the roadside to see Her Son. Her grief and her sadness are remembered at the entrance of the Chapel.